Support Letters - Appalachian Forest Heritage Area Letters received, prior to designation, in support of AFHA National Heritage Area Designation

For Feasibility Study

County Commissions, Towns, elected officials:

Gov. Bob Wise, State of West Virginia

Gov. Robert L. Erlich, State of Maryland

Board of Garrett County Commissioners

Greenbrier County Commission

Grant County Commission

Hampshire County Commission

Hardy County Commission

Mineral County Commission

Morgan County Commission

Nicholas County Commission

Pendleton County Commission

Pocahontas County Commission

Preston County Commission

Webster County Commission

Town of Addison, Webster Springs

Town of Alderson

Town of Beverly

City of Elkins

Municipality of Franklin

City of Keyser

Town of Kitzmiller

Town of Oakland

City of Richwood

City of Ronceverte

Town of Terra Alta

Hon. Mike Ross, WV Senate

Hon. Walt Helmick, WV Senate

Hon. Randy White, WV Senate

Hon. Bill Proudfoot, WV House of Delegates

Hon. Charles Trump, WV House of Delegates

Hon. Joe Talbott, WV House of Delegates

Hon. John Shelton, WV House of Delegates

Community Development & Promotion organizations:

West Virginia Development Office

West Virginia Division of Tourism

Barbour County Economic Development Authority

Travel Berkeley Springs

Berkeley Springs-Morgan Co Chamber of Commerce

Belington Convention & Visitors Bureau

Buckhannon Upshur Chamber of Commerce

Buckhannon Upshur County Convention and Visitors Bureau

Buckhannon Upshur Retail Merchants Assoc.

Davis Thomas Business Committee of the Tucker Co. Chamber of Commerce

Downtown Elkins Promotional Committee

Garrett County Chamber of Commerce

Greenbrier Co Convention & Visitors Bureau

Grant County Development Authority

Hampshire County Chamber of Commerce

Hampshire County Convention & Visitors Bureau

Marlinton Business Association

Mountain Partners in Community Development

Pocahontas County Convention & Visitors Bureau

Potomac Headwaters Resource Conservation and Development Region

Ronceverte Planning Commission

Ronceverte Development Corporation

Terra Alta Betterment Committee

Terra Alta Police Dept

Terra Alta Economic Development Corporation

Northern Webster County Improvement Council

Webster County Main Street

Webster County Economic Development Authority

Wes-Mon-Ty Resource Conservation and Development Area

Forestry organizations:

Monongahela National Forest

West Virginia Division of Forestry

West Virginia Forestry Association

National Resources Conservation Service, USDA

Green Ridge State Forest, Maryland Department of Natural REsources

Pardee & Curtin Lumber Company

Weyerhaeuser

Central West Virginia Woodworkers Co-operative

Garrett County Forest Conservancy District Board

Teachers for the Forest

West Virginia Land & Mineral Owners Council

Morgan County Forester, Division of Forestry

Heritage, Cultural, Natural Resource, Education Organizations

West Virginia Division of Culture and History

West Virginia Division of Natural Resources

Augusta Heritage Center

The Aurora Project

Aurora Area Historical Society

Backbone Mtn & Potomac River Heritage Corp

Beverly Historic Landmark Commission

Historic Beverly Preservation

C-HOPE in Randolph County

Canaan Valley Institute (letter of participation)

Davis & Elkins College, Recreation Management and Tourism Program

Eastern Panhandle Conservation District

Elkins Historic Landmark Commission

Elkins Parks and Recreation Commission

Emma Scott Garden Club

Historian, The Greenbrier

Hackers Valley Senior Citizens

Hampshire County Arts Council

Highlands Trail Foundation

Holly River State Park Foundation

The Lewisburg Foundation

Morgan County Ecotourism Association

Morgan County Extension Service

The Mountain Institute

Mountain State Railroad & Logging Historical Association

Ohio-West Virginia YMCA

Pocahontas County Historic Landmarks Commission

The Pocahontas Times, William P. McNeel

Pocahontas County High School 4-H Forestry Team and Forestry Classes

Preservation Alliance of West Virginia

Randolph County Historical Society

Rich Mountain Battlefield Foundation

Ronceverte Historic Landmark Commission

Shavers Fork Coalition

Sleepy Creek Watershed Association

Staunton-Parkersburg Turnpike Alliance

Tucker County Schools Gear Up

Webster County Senior Citizens

Webster County Board of Education

Businesses and Residents

Lemuel Chenoweth House

Alpine Lake Public Utilities Company

AM Properties, Elkins

Barnes & Associates, Elkins

Bright Morning Inn, Davis

Davis House Bookstore

Hermitage Inn and Restaurant, Petersburg

Highland Scene Tours/Highland Inn and Spa, Davis

General Lewis Inn, Lewisburg

Thorn Run Inn, Grant County

Terra Alta Lake Farm

Eden Holding Company, Stephanie Randolph, Sutton

Robin McClintock, Hendricks, member Tucker County Planning Commision

Judy Williams, Elkins

Michael Ledden, Parsons

David and Kathleen White, Terra Alta

Mary Van Meter, Water Street Gallery, Petersburg

Paul Shogren, Oakland

J. Hapwood and Karen B. Waddell, Mountain Lake Park, Md

Josie Shillito, Terra Alta

Ann Nelson, Terra Alta

Hunter and Leann Lesser, Elkins

Nancy J. Kelly, Terra Alta

Linda and James Harris, Ellicott City, Md

Margaret Michael Harless, West Friendship, Md

Stanley G. Davis, Terra Alta

Joan Cathell, Rowlesburg

Ernest Blosser, Terra Alta

Honesty and Frank Buczek

Letters sent to Sen. Rockefeller winter 2005 – 06 in support of AFHA National Heritage Area designation:

Sam J. Argento, WV House of Delegates, 35th District

Clark S. Barnes, WV Senate, 15th District

Allen V. Evans, WV House of Delegates, 48th Dist

Bill Hamilton, WV House of Delegates, 39th District

William G. Hartman, WV House of Delegates, 37th District

Mary M. Poling, WV House of Delegates, 40th District

Ruth Rowan, WV House of Delegates, 50st District

William R. Sharpe, Jr., WV Senate, 12th District

Joe Talbott, WV House of Delegates, 36th District

Larry A. Williams, WV House of Delegates, 45th District

George C. Edwards, Maryland House of Delegates, Garrett and Allegany Counties

Eden Holding Company, Stephanie Randolph, Sutton

Greenbrier County Convention and Visitors Bureau

AFHA Support letters / resolutions received or renewed 2013, after Feasibility Study

Gov. Joe Manchin, State of West Virginia

Randolph County Commission

Randolph County Convention and Visitors Bureau

Tucker County Commission (letter of appreciation)

Garrett Co Chamber of Commerce, McHenry, MD

New and Renewed support letters for AFNHA designation 2018

Randolph County Commission, WV

County Commission of Mineral County, WV

Preston County Commission, WV

Pocahontas County Commission, WV

Hampshire County Commission, WV

Board of Garrett County Commissioners, MD

City of Elkins, WV

Town of Beverly, WV

City of Lewisburg, WV

Town of Cowen, WV

Town of Oakland, MD

Town of Kitzmiller, MD

Forest Supervisor, Monongahela National Forest

West Virginia Division of Forestry

Maryland Department of Natural Resources, Green Ridge State Forest

Preservation Alliance of West Virginia

Webster County Economic Development Authority

Hampshire County Convention & Visitors Bureau

Elkins Depot Welcome Center

Beverly Heritage Center

Mountain Arts District

Citizens for Historical Opportunity, Preservation and Education

Randolph County Historical Society

Rich Mountain Battlefield Foundation